RSS

MIND CONTROL 25

16 Apr
An Apostle

Image via Wikipedia

The first question to ask would be this……is Paul the apostle really an apostle?

In the time of Paul there was a bit of a dispute as to whether or not Paul was actually an apostle. The disciples had a meeting and chose another apostle after Judas died. Paul was not selected; he wasn’t even qualified. So people questioned how Paul became an apostle.

So Paul wrote a letter protesting:

1 Cor 9:1-3
1 Am I not free? Am I not an apostle? Have I not seen Jesus our Lord? Are you not the result of my work in the Lord?
2 Even though I may not be an apostle to others, surely I am to you! For you are the seal of my apostleship in the Lord.
3 This is my defense to those who sit in judgment on me.

This is interesting. When exactly did Paul see Jesus? There is no evidence that he did

On Damascus Road Jesus appeared to Paul……but Paul did not see him.

Acts 9:7-8
7 The men who traveled with him stood speechless, hearing the voice but SEEING NO ONE.
8 Saul got up from the ground, and though his eyes were open, HE COULD SEE NOTHING; and leading him by the hand, they brought him into Damascus.

So is Paul telling the truth?

Jesus said in Matt 19:28….. “Assuredly I say to you, that in the regeneration, when the Son of Man sits on the throne of His glory, you who have followed Me will also sit on twelve thrones, judging the twelve tribes of Israel.”

Is Paul a member of this twelve that Jesus spoke of? Jesus never made mention of a 13th apostle.

But Paul justifies his position and says in 1 Corinthians 15:9-10……. “I am the least of the apostles, that i am not meet to be called an apostle, because I persecuted the church of God. But by the grace of God I am what I am: and his grace which was bestowed upon me was not in vain; but I laboured more abundantly than they all: yet not I, but the grace of God which was with me.

Hmmm……how can Paul say that he laboured more abundantly than the other apostles?

How does he know this?

So basically Paul prays more, teaches more, speaks in tongues more, and suffers more than everybody else, by his own account.

There’s something suspicious about this guy……

To be continued…..

Click Here To Read More of The MIND CONTROL Series

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 16, 2011 in THOUGHTS

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
