RSS

LADY GAGA AND HER LOVE FOR JUDAS

22 May
Lady GaGa

In a world full of subliminal messages and symbolism emerges certain figures who are bold enough to wear their cause on their sleeve. Spirituality is a phrase that is often ignored or overlooked because we are instead motivated by an overwhelming desire to be entertained; and it is under the guise of “entertainment” that our subconscious is fed with messages that increasingly lead us to a somewhat dark, occultic and evil state of thought.

Perhaps i am being over dramatic; but while this thought is on my mind it may be interesting to take a look at Lady Gaga’s newest single, “Judas”.

Ohohohoh

I’m in love with Judas

Ohohohoh
I’m in love with Judas

Judas! Judaas Judas! Judaas
Judas! Judaas Judas! GAGA

[Verse 1]

When he comes to me, I am ready
I’ll wash his feet with my hair if he needs
Forgive him when his tongue lies through his brain
Even after three times, he betrays me

I’ll bring him down, bring him down, down
A king with no crown, king with no crown

[Chorus]

I’m just a Holy Fool, oh baby he’s so cruel
But I’m still in love with Judas, baby
I’m just a Holy Fool, oh baby he’s so cruel
But I’m still in love with Judas, baby

Ohohohoh
I’m in love with Judas

Ohohohoh
I’m in love with Judas

Judas! Judaas Judas! Judaas
Judas! Judaas Judas! GAGA

[Verse 2]

I couldn’t love a man so purely
Even darkness forgave his crooked way
I’ve learned our love is like a brick
You can build a house or sink a dead body

I’ll bring him down, bring him down, down
A king with no crown, king with no crown

[Chorus]

I’m just a Holy Fool, oh baby he’s so cruel
But I’m still in love with Judas, baby
I’m just a Holy Fool, oh baby he’s so cruel
But I’m still in love with Judas, baby

Ohohohoh
I’m in love with Judas

Ohohohoh
I’m in love with Judas

[Bridge]

In the most Biblical sense,
I am beyond repentance
Fame hooker, prostitute wench, vomits her mind
But in the cultural sense
I just speak in future tense
Judas kiss me if offenced,
Or wear an ear condom next time

I wanna love you,
But something’s pulling me away from you
Jesus is my virtue,
Judas is the demon I cling to
I cling to

[Chorus]

I’m just a Holy Fool, oh baby he’s so cruel
But I’m still in love with Judas, baby
I’m just a Holy Fool, oh baby he’s so cruel
But I’m still in love with Judas, baby

Ohohohoh
I’m in love with Judas

Ohohohoh
I’m in love with Judas

Judas! Judaas Judas! Judaas
Judas! Judaas Judas! GAGA

The message embodied in this song is one that is fairly straight forward in both a literal and metaphorical sense. A lot of us are familiar with the character that the song is based on, “Judas”, the man who betrayed Jesus Christ with a kiss on the cheek.

The song begins with Lady Gaga claiming that she is in love with Judas. Whenever he comes to her she is ready to accept him and do everything that he needs. It doesnt matter that he is a liar, she will always forgive him for that, no matter how many times he betrays her.

She admits the fact that she is a fool and there is something wrong with being in this situation, but despite Judas being the cruel person that he is, she loves him.

She goes further to emphasise that she means what she is saying “in the most Biblical sense” of things. She is ‘beyond repentance’ from the path that she has chosen. In other words, even though she acknowledges that there is something wrong with this predicament, she is never going to turn back and do what she knows to be right.

She says she is a “fame hooker” and a “prostitute wench”. A fame hooker is someone who is willing to do anything, regardless of how humiliating or demeaning it is, in order to achieve notoriety. It is someone who would do anything to come into the limelight, and will stoop to any level for fame and attention; including selling her body. Moreover, she says exactly what is on her mind, and in a cultural sense her message indicates a change in the “future” of the world she is trying to create.

You can betray her with a kiss on the cheek, (as with Judas), or next time you can wear an “ear condom”, in other words you can choose to protect yourself from her speech which may offend you.

She is pretty clear about her position up until the next point, when she says that “Jesus is her virtue”, but the next line in sequence is “Judas is the demon i cling to”, which is a complete contradiction, and is further emphasized by her repeating the words “i cling to” just to make sure that we heard her.

Perhaps i am being a bit one sided in my analysis. This ofcourse is left for you to decide. In my view Lady Gaga is allowed to be in love with Judas if she wants to be. Her choice of spiritual direction is completely up to her; but when one stops to think for a second about the millions of naive people out there who follow her obsessively and hang on to her every word – singing blindly along to songs of which they are completely unaware of the depths of their meaning – it becomes a different story.

Music has a funny effect on the subconscious of the mind. Even as i analyse this song i cant help but find myself singing the words “im in love with Judas” in my head, even though i am trying hard not to, and i do not wish to confess any love for Judas at this point either.

Lady Gaga refers to her fans as monsters. With songs like this that may be exactly what she is trying to create.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 22, 2011 in THOUGHTS

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
