RSS

STUPID LIAR – By: Hamidat Popoola

08 Jul
Girl

Image by Per Ola Wiberg ~ Powi via Flickr

I trudged down the road. Waiting for people is so annoying. She should have gotten here ages ago. Do you know what my pet peeve is? When people lie. Of course, I have lied before and I will still lie, but I hate it when people tell unnecessary lies. She texted me saying she was five minutes away. 30 minutes had gone by since that text and she still wasn’t here. She had already wasted an hour of my time prior the text. Why raise my hopes and crush them? Stupid liar.

I kept walking, formulating in my head what I was going to say to her when I finally saw her. She would get it and I wasn’t going to listen to her apology or silly stories. She always had an excuse. I couldn’t wait to hear the new creative one. Stupid liar.

I pretended like I hate going to my friends because they were so dainty and girly. Psssh. Truth be told, I hate walking. I just didn’t have much of a choice half of the time.

She was supposed to meet me outside my house. One of my houses. I had quickly hurried from my other house to this one cause it was closer to her. Me being a good friend. Pity she couldn’t do the same and consider that I was standing outside in the sun. Although she would probably counter that and ask why I didn’t go back inside when I didn’t see her. She didn’t after all beg me to stay outside in the sun. But she had said she was five minutes away! Stupid liar.

I was almost at her house now and I still didn’t see any sign of her. My phone beeped to notify me of yet another text message. I wasn’t going to read this one either. I wasn’t ready to hear her tale of the day. I bet she would just be leaving her house. Probably eating in the kitchen, laughing at how easily she had led me on. Stupid liar.

The gateman let me in. He knew me quite well. I burst into the kitchen ready to scream ‘A-ha!’ but she wasn’t there. ‘Hello?’ I called. Her mother came down. After exchanging pleasantries, she asked why I was there. Why, to see your daughter you silly woman, I responded…mostly in my head. She looked surprised and said the words that changed everything ‘But she’s at your house’. I argued with her that it couldn’t be. I just left my house. ‘Ahn ahn. I said she is at your house darling. I dropped her outside the gate myself. The house at Oniru? You said that is where you were for the weekend’.

THEN, it clicked.

I ran out of the kitchen faster than the air in the room. I could faintly hear her calling after me. She was in my Oniru house. Crap. I thought I told her the Lekki house. Damn, I didn’t have an Oniru house. I didn’t even have a Lekki house. Scrap that, I didn’t even have a house! I lived in a face-me-i-face-you apartment in Mushin. I had taken different buses just to get to the ‘Lekki house’ before she did and wait outside before she got a chance to knock on the gate and my cover would be blown.

THE TEXT MESSAGES!

I looked at my phone as I ran away from her house. The first text read ‘I’m outside your gate. Come out’.

Then ‘Later you’ll say I wasted your time, come out now. I don’t have credit to call’.

Then ‘I think your gateman is foolish. He is saying he doesn’t know you and I should get away from here’.

Then ‘Who the hell are you?’

I was a 16 year-old girl who lived in Mushin. I met this girl when I had saved enough to go to the Silverbird Galleria. I was standing next to her at the ice cream joint at Barcelos when we started talking. She liked my top. I had stolen it from the line at the back of the compound where someone had spread their clothes. She just assumed I was rich, I didn’t tell her I was. I just played along. It was nice to have a rich friend. I gave her different addresses, claiming my father had different houses just to make sure she didn’t return to the same place too often and discover the truth.

All that hustle. Gone.

She knew the truth now and I doubt she would want to be my friend anymore. You know the moment when you wonder what the point of everything was? Yeah that.

I was the stupid liar.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on July 8, 2011 in CREATIVITY

 

Tags: , , , ,

4 responses to “STUPID LIAR – By: Hamidat Popoola

  1. Skywalka1

    July 8, 2011 at 1:35 pm

    oh this was quite nice. i felt really sorry for the stupid liar girl…she just wanted to be liked you know..

     
    • kid1gidi

      July 20, 2011 at 12:46 pm

      LOL. Its amazing the pressure people feel to be liked or validated by others.

       
  2. Daniella

    July 8, 2011 at 2:32 pm

    lol nice one hamidat! Totally didn’t see that coming. That’s the thing about stupid lies, in the end you ask yourself what the point of everything was…

     
    • kid1gidi

      July 20, 2011 at 12:42 pm

      Yes you do! People say lying is easy but i think at the end of the day, telling the truth is easier. You have to remember a lie to make sure you don’t slip up. With the truth, you don’t have to because it always remains the same.

      Pssh. I have turned this to a Church school something.

       

Leave a Reply

 
