RSS

MISTAKEN IDENTITY

14 Aug
Logo/icon for Stagecraft and technical theatre.

Image via Wikipedia

He looked at me from across the table and asked me a question.

“Who are you?”

“My name is Kevin Adams, I am originally from the United States but I was born in New Zealand”, I answered.

“I don’t want to know your name or where you are from, I asked you a specific question, who are you?”

“Ok then, I like football,  and I enjoy hanging out with the lads. I don’t like reading but I occasionally watch the…..

He stopped me in mid sentence.

“I don’t want to know your likes and dislikes, I want to know who you are.” He said

“Well I like to think I’m a nice guy. I’m easy going and I don’t take things too seriously. I’m generous to a fault, but I don’t like being taken advantage of”.

He wasn’t satisfied.

“You’re telling me about your personality, I want to know who you are”.

I thought for second.

“Well I want to be a doctor, I’ve always wanted to help the world and save a few lives”

He shook his head.

“I don’t want to know what you want to be, I want to know who you are”.

I was getting frustrated at this point.

“Well right now I have a dead end job as a sales clerk in the local supermarket cause I’ve got to pay the bills somehow!” I retorted

“Don’t tell me what you do as a job, tell me who you are”, was his calm response.

“Well I believe my purpose in life is to leave my mark in the world as someone who cared and took care of people”, I said

His blank stare told me my answer was still not enough.

“Well I am who I am, and if nobody else understands me that’s fine. I don’t need to explain who I am to anyone. I live my life for myself and if anyone doesn’t like it, tough!” I screamed.

He smiled at me and waved his hand towards the door.

“Come back and speak to me when you know who you are; my son”.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 14, 2011 in CREATIVITY

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
